The first time I realized that I wanted to be a photojournalist was when I was called to be one. I went on a missionary trip to Nicaragua and my camera came along. I went from church event to church event simply taking pictures for somebody’s photo album. One night I went to a very poor church lit only by several incandescent light bulbs, no fancy music no mesmerizing preacher only poor people and a dirt floor. I was transformed by the simplicity of the event by the expressions on peoples faces. That night I decided to think in black and white and it change me as a person and as a photographer.

Please see the complete gallery at:
http://charliebillups.photoshelter.com/gallery/Nicaragua-images-of-worship/G0000ItI8qYVVAdA/

Leave a Reply

