This year will be 8 years since I met my wonderful wife Lorena in Bogota, Colombia. The next day that I arrived we walked around Bogota’s La Candelaria neighborhood and  introduced me to what seems to me as one of the staples of Colombian food, the Hot Dog “El Perro”. My wife has a love affair with the Colombian Hot Dog. She moved to the United States 5 years ago and she continues to long for the unique taste. Last week we visited Rapidito a new eatery on 1855 West Diversey and it was just as if we stepped into the Hot Dog place on la Carrera 7ma in Bogota.

The Hot Dog is not the only selection on the menu but that is what I had. The Dog was filled with Cornish game hen eggs, chicken breast pieces and crackly bread crumbs topped with ketchup, pink sauce and pineapple sauce. It is good! I close my eyes and I was in Bogota, I close my eyes again and I was in the Plaza in Santa Marta, I closed my eyes again and I was in the plaza in Corozal my wife’s hometown.

The menu is very varied and healthy nothing deep fried, several types of arepas offered including arepas de choclo another Colombian classic. Also on the menu are chicken and beef skewers topped with pineapple sauce and pink sauce. There is a wide choice of Colombian sodas and fresh juices smoothies and coffee.

I felt that the atmosphere is very warm an inviting owner Carolina Diaz makes you feel like family. Rapidito is very well priced and is open every day. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

