The place where you learned about God – Parroquia San Jorge

“I am reminded of your sincere faith, which first lived in your grandmother Lois and in your mother Eunice and, I am persuaded, now lives in you also.”

Charlie Billups Puerto Rico Trip July 2015

Today as I returned from having lunch at Bebo’s Restaurant in Loiza Street, I drove south on San Jorge Avenue to get into the expressway to go to my home away from home and as I passed by the Parroquia San Jorge (San Jorge Parish) and I thought should I turn around and go back? Thought about for several blocks and then My heart said yes! and so I turned around went back.

I took several pictures of the outside of the building and I went in. The mass was over so pretty much there was some people doing cleanup and there was a gathering outside in the parking lot were they were having a fellowship lunch so I was alone inside the church. As I came in I smelled the strong scent of candles burning, as I felt it, I was overcome with emotions and memories as the smell was the same as when I was a kid, and all of the sudden I remembered my catechism classes, the old lady that thought me the ten commandments, I remembered my first communion and I realized on thing, this is where the journey began, encouraged by my catholic grandmother Tata this is was the place where my love for God was first encouraged and nurtured.

I realized that this was a full circle moment deja vu experience and here I was. It was a very profound moment especially since I had left the Catholic faith many many years ago. I realized that I wont go back, but it was great to be there and it was a moment of thankful reflection for all the many years that God has been with me and has had the grace to saved me through difficult moments and decisions in life. So many moments in my life that I thought I was not going to make it, however I am always thankful for learning to confess my sins to God and ask for his forgiveness.

I thank my grandmother for all this. Everyday I think of the impact she had in my life. I hope that somehow I can have this impact in my children.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

