Our legacy – 2016

Several weeks the wife of Alderman Roberto Maldonado my friend passed away after a short but devastating illness. Several weeks ago also my childhood friend Ricky Barcelo in Puerto Rico also passed unexpectedly and finally yesterday my dear high school friend Sigfredo “Junior” Rivera passed in the night victim of a sudden heart attack.

I am not old, I am only 54 but these three unexpected deaths make me consider where I am in life and specially the brevity of it. Last night as we participated in the monthly “Bombazo” of the AfriCaribe cultural center, I watched my 2 youngest children, Sarah and Pachi dance to the rhytms of drums that evoke a past in the slave owned plantations of Boriken, and I realized the legacy that I leave my children is my culture, my passions, the images that I take. Hopefully they will love our Afro-caribbean culture as much as I do.

I hope that 2016 brings reconciliation to many and to myself!

Leave a Reply

